Rugby League (9 galleries)

Rugby league[1][2][3] is a full-contact team sport, played with an oval ball[4] by two teams of thirteen players on a rectangular grass field. Rugby league is one of the two codes of rugby football, the other being rugby union.

The league code is most prominent in Australia, England, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea (where it is considered the national sport). It is also played professionally in France, Wales and the United States. New Zealand are the current World Cup holders.